Catching Them Up

If anyone knows me personally, then you know that I love my family. Most of the elders in my family like my grandparents and great aunts and uncles are so behind in technology. Most of them own smart phones and computers capable to communicate with the entire world but they hardly know how to use it besides making a phone call or checking and sending emails.

My great Aunt Dovie is slowly but surely becoming an exception. She is now leaving the dark ages and is learning how to navigate a very mature form of social media in the area of text messaging. She even sent me a text message the other day just to show me that she’s trying.

Talking with Auntie D.J. (as I call her) about becoming more tech savvy and how it’s the way of the world now, she is mostly receptive to what I have to say. But she does express difficulty in understanding the language.

Text messaging and social media has a language of its own. A lot of acronyms are involved in messages and posts. I can remember her one day out of sheer frustration Auntie D.J. asked me, “What the heck does “LOL” and “OMG” mean? People keep saying that to me!” I then tried to explain to her that the best way I knew how that social media has a different lingo that she’s was going to have to learn.

For someone who has been out of school as long as she has, learning a new language is something she did not plan in her late 50s. So what did I do? I took to social media to help us out! I googled social media acronyms and printed out a translation list for my aunt. I got it from a fellow WordPress pal, Digiphile.

I wrote this blog because as we are millennials we learn fast and move with the technology and that is great. But I don’t want us to forget to educate those who once were educating us, OUR ELDERS.

-Orlando P. Bailey

Leave a Reply

